Promoting Hip Hop vs. other types of music

• I wrote records and toured with a punk band for about 10 years and I've been working on hip hop for the past year or two. What I've found is that promoting hip hop records locally and regionally is way harder than the other music I've created. When people hear the word mixtape, unless they themselves are an artist, they shut down and get dismissive of the potential artistic content. Anyone else experience this when they started promoting their lane of hip hop or subgenres?

• @solomonk This is mad true, I've been playing in rock bands for seven years playing longer,and when my bands would open up for shows, we may not be payed much,but we would get free drinks or food. Very minimum gas money, but for rap music in the south, club promoters make you pay to perform. Very strange to me, $500 for five minutes $1,000 for 10 minute sets.

• @OllieAri yeah I'm in Alabama and the lanes for actually promoting yourself, like the infrastructure, just isn't here and the few people that do have it keep a vice grip on it. Very hard to come up. In bands you can rent out spaces to do shows, most places won't rent spaces to hip hop artists.

• @solomonk i'm in the NJ/NYC area where evvvvverybody and their mother, father, brother raps so theres an abundance of outlets you can get your music to HOWEVER its 100% about relationships out here. there have been times i was so frustrated with not booking local shows or getting music featured where i wanted it to that i started doing research where the "cool" parties in BK where. i'd show up, have a few drinks and talk to people. 3 out of 4 times you're meeting someone that has a friend that interns at blah blah blah or is best friends with a Hot97 dj's cousin or gets there haircut at the same place that shapes Joey Badass up. But yeah - venues are super apprehensive with booking straight rap shows these days. its butt.